Owens beats Moran in Jackson 100 at Brownstown

Seymour’s Tyler Cain won the Bowman 50 for the Indiana Pro Late Models on September 24 at Brownstown Speedway. Tonight Brownstown will host its championship races of the season for all divisions.

Jimmy Owens and Devin Moran traded heads several times in the final 14 laps of the 42nd annual Jackson 100 on September 25 at Brownstown Speedway, but it was veteran Owens who edged Moran just 0.079 seconds to the finish for his victory. . at the annual Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned event.

Owens, who first won the biggest race of the year at Brownstown in 2012, survived the challenges of Moran, who celebrated his 27th birthday as he sought his first-ever win on the track, but he is fell just short of victory as he crossed the line in second.

Tanner English, Eibach Springs Rookie of the Year last year in the LOLMDS, was third. Earl Pearson Jr. the winner in 2009 was fourth, with last week’s Knoxville winner Mike Marlar completing the top five drivers.

Owens took the lead early in the race when he and Spencer Hughes, first starter of the Jackson 100 for the first time, ran first and second for the first 40 laps until Pearson, who stalked Hughes for several laps, moved up to second on Tour 41. Pearson then held second until lap 58, when Moran moved up to second.

The race went without a warning for the first 86 laps until Ricky Thornton Jr. pulled out the only warning with 14 laps to go. It is unfortunate for Thornton, who had done five times in the race and was the fastest car on the track when he pulled out the yellow after climbing to sixth in the overall standings.

The last 14 laps between Owens and Moran have been back and forth in the battle for the lead. Moran was able to move forward on lap 88, but two stayed side by side as Owens regained first place on lap 93. But Moran was not yet finished. He stuck with the defending series champion until the very end, but narrowly missed out on victory.

In Lucas Oil’s Victory Lane for the 77th time in his career, the 49-year-old superstar from Tennessee was elated as he got out of his car to celebrate the $ 20,000 victory.

“It was a blast,” he said. “I didn’t know in which direction (Moran) was going to fall on me, if it was going to be up or down. Because he had a really, really good car. We had a good hot rod too, you know. It’s great to be in Victory Lane here in Brownstown.

“Tonight was by far the best trail we’ve had here in a while,” he added. “They did their best with the weather. You can’t do anything against the rain. What a race. I had a balloon. It was fun running with Devin. He gave me a lot of room, I felt. Sometimes, if he storms up, he wins the race. But he was respectful and gave me a lot of room like that, and it made for a hell of a show for the fans.

Hudson O’Neal, Dennis Erb Jr., Josh Richards, Spencer Hughes and Stormy Scott completed the top 10.

Bloomington’s Derek Groomer won the modified feature film against Jordan Weever, Bryan Barber, Ryan Thomas and Brandon McDowell.

Austin Perry of North Vernon won the super stock title against Mike Fields, JT Huffman, Roy Knorr and Greg Amick.

Erb wins the night before Jackson

On a wild night before the main event of the Jackson Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt series. Tyler Eb claimed his seventh series-lead victory on September 24 at Brownstown Speedway.

Erb took first place when race leader Josh Rice slowed down with a flat tire in the right-back on lap 29. Erb earned his second career victory at Brownstown. Tim McCreadie, the current leader of the LOLMDS championship, was second, followed by Brandon Sheppard, Devin Moran and Tanner English.

Scott James started from pole. The veteran Indiana rider was on the hunt for his first LOLMDS victory since 2009. James led the first three laps before handing over the top spot to top row colleague Josh Rice,

Rice, winner of the 2021 Ralph Latham Memorial at Florence Speedway in May, then took the lead until Erb passed him on lap 13 for first place. Rice then used the high side to her advantage to regain Erb’s point on lap 23. Rice regained Erb’s lead, but Rice suddenly slowed down as she came out of turn 2 with a puncture in the rear right tire, which forced a warning flag and a trip to the hot pit for a tire change.

Erb the then led the remainder of the race for the $ 10,000 victory and placed him in Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the 16th time in his career and his third in the last four races in the series.

“It’s great to win here at Brownstown,” he said. “They did a great job from yesterday to today to give us a good race track. Huddy just missed the bottom there, and I just filled the hole that was there. Every time I lead it seems like there are a bunch of caveats at the end. I have a great time. We had to take out two cars yesterday. I have a great crew and great car owners. We had a good car tonight.

Rounding out the top 10 were Earl Pearson Jr., Billy Moyer Jr., Steve Casebolt, Josh Rice and Shane Clanton.

Seymour’s Tyler Cain won the Bowman 50 for Indiana Pro Late Models. Tyler Neal was second, followed by Raymond Humphrey, Tyler Collins and Jeremy Hines.

Bloomington’s Jordan Wever took on the edited feature film about Victor Lee, Derek Groomer, Bryan Barber and Jacoby Hines.

Sheppard wins Indiana Icebreaker

Brandon Sheppard won his second straight Indiana Icebreaker when the delayed $ 15,000 up for grabs event took place on September 23 at Brownstown Speedway.

It was Sheppard’s first win in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt series of the season. The reigning four-time winner of the Dirt Track World Championship Race was followed by Casebolt, Devin Moran, O’Neal and Jimmy Owens.

Sheppard, who clinched the top spot off the front row in March, took the lead early in the 50-lap race. Casebolt was the third driver to finish second after Josh Richards and Kyle Bronson felt left out. Casebolt clinched second place on lap 18 and stayed there until the ladies. Sheppard controlled the race from the start.

Sheppard, who won the race in his last outfit in 2019, led all 50 laps to become the 15th different winner this year in the LOLMDS.

“Our car was really good,” he said. “I want to thank all the fans for coming out tonight. We have three nights of racing this weekend. We love coming to Brownstown Speedway. The track had a lot of character tonight.

Josh Rice, Tim McCreadie, Spencer Hughes, Tanner English and Tyler Erb rounded out the top 10.

Randy Shuman won the edited feature film which was also postponed from March. Dylan Woolding was second, followed by Andy Sherley, Jacoby Hines and Brayden Watson.

DJ Dunn won the pure stock title against Conner Mertens, Keaton Streeval, Tommy Fleenor and Tory Routier.

Tonight Brownstown will host its season championship races for Super Late Models, Pro Late Models, Modified, Pure Stock, Super Stock and Hornets. For more information, visit brownstownspeedway.com.

This week in racing history

50 years ago tonight, Chris Bradley won the 1971 end-of-season feature film in Brownstown against Kenny Simpson, Luther Burton, Ed Covey and Ed Pennington.

Forty years ago, in 1981, at Charlestown Motor Speedway, Steve Kinser won the sprint car race against Brad Doty, Fred Linder and Lee Osborne.

30 years ago in 1991 in Brownstown, Randy Petro won the street stock title ahead of Scott Patman, Scott McKeand, Jeff Terry and Willie Sallee. Jay Deckard won the Bombardment feature film over Terrence Johnson, Mark Bruce, Kevin Nagel and George Berry. Gary Herbert won the modified feature film against Bryan Clendenen, Charlie Sentman Mike Hawley and Butch Shay.

James Essex writes a motorsport diary for The Republic. Send your comments to sports@therepublic.com

Source link

Comments are closed.