Shady Bowl Speedway kicks off 2022 season

Jason Atkinson wins the CRA Street Stock feature at Shady Bowl Speedway on Sunday.

DeGRAFF — Shady Bowl Speedway kicked off its 2022 racing season with four stock car divisions on Sunday.

Sanctioning bodies CRA and VORES took over the rural oval on a very cold day, but the action on the track was hot. The first series on the trail was the Van Hoy Oil CRA St. Stocks. Jason Atkinson won the 75 lap event after fending off challenges from Josh Smith, Austin Maynard and Ryan Amonett for most of the race. Smith, a local favourite, moved up to second place after a mechanical problem forced him into the pits. When the board flew, it was Atkinson, Smith, Maynard, Dalton Connor and JP Crabtree who finished one through five.

The VORES compact series was next for their main 30-lap race. Hoosier driver Chis Jennings proved that all of his series crowns were no fluke as he dominated the event. Karter Stark and Bo Hoelscher battled it out for second place before Stark got away with just a few laps to go. Kyle Frame finished fourth and Justin Courtney fifth. Nicholas Meade wore the checkerboard for the main ‘B’.

Vores Welding CRA’s Late Model Sportsmen were next for a 50-lap main race. Brad Coons and Chad Pendleton started and raced through the first eight laps. But it wasn’t to be as fast as the quality, motorized, and never looked back Ryan Fleming as he held a driving clinic in his new car. Fleming was behind the wheel of Wootens Automotive and Towing’s all-new hot rod. Coons retained second place, Pendelton third, Billy Hudson fourth and Caleb Reschar fifth.

The modified field saw favorite Jerry Stapleton of Troy take command of the race and he was never challenged as he took first place. Mark Timmerman, Adam Lee, Bob Sibila Jr. and Mike Carroll filled out the top five.

Jason Atkinson wins the CRA Street Stock feature at Shady Bowl Speedway on Sunday.

Comments are closed.