Summary of the Council of Ministers of April 9

According to the recent Cabinet post-meeting summary, His Excellency the Governor, Mr Martyn Roper, OBE, chaired the Cabinet meeting which was held on Tuesday 5th April 2022 in the Cabinet Conference Room, government administration. All Ministers and Cabinet Members were present except the Honorable Kenneth Bryan, in which case Parliamentary Secretary Dwayne Seymour acted as temporary Minister of Tourism and Transport.

At this Cabinet meeting, the Cabinet took the following actions:

  • confirmed approval granted by circulation on March 25, 2022 for the directive for the designation of a healthcare institution as an institution and publication of the guideline in the gazette
  • approved the following reappointments in the Energy Policy Council; President or delegate of Caribbean Utility Company; Executive Director of Energy and Utilities or Utility Representative Office of Regulation and Competition; Director or delegate of the Department of the Environment; General Manager or representative of Cayman Brac Power and Light; Andrew Small; and Alan Neesome
  • approved under section 39(2) of the Public Authorities Act 2020 to exempt Authorities and public enterprises do not pay the central government excess cash reserves as of December 31, 2021
  • approved in accordance with Section 12 of the Public Management and Finance Act (2020 Revision) the reallocation of $10.35 M ($5.35 M in 2022 and $5 M in 2023) for the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development
  • approved the appointment of Joel Francis as the Minister of Education’s representative to the Cayman Islands University College Board of Governors
  • approved the tabling of the annual report of the Board of Governors of the University College of the Cayman Islands Report and financial statements for the year ended 31 December 2020 to Parliament
  • approved in accordance with Section 9(5) of the Public Finance and Management Act (2020 Revision) the transfer of appropriations totaling $500,000 for the Department of Lands and Survey
  • advised His Excellency the Governor to approve the lease of Crown Land Block 67A Parcel 25REM1 at the Cayman Hot Rod Association
  • approved the publication of drafting instructions to modernize the Veterinary Act (1997 revision)
  • approved the appointment of the following additional members to the Review Committee Planning and Territorial Development Act; Ted Ebanks, Adrian Bodden, President of the Chamber of Commerce or Designate, CPA President or Designate, Director of Planning or Designate, National Trust President or Delegate and Chief Officer of the Ministry of District Administration and Lands or designate;
  • approved the continued delivery of the integrated solid waste management system by Private public partnership; finalize negotiations on the project agreement and the extension of the Financial Closing and Long-stop dates
  • approved the publication of drafting instructions to amend the Immigration (Transitional) Act to clarify Cabinet’s ability to apply such conditions as it deems appropriate when granting an exemption under section 53(1)(b) of the Act
  • approved the renewal of the mandate of Dr Dax Basdeo as a member of the Board of Directors of the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority
  • approved the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority (CIMA) to order commemorative coins for the 25th anniversary of CIMA and Her Majesty’s Platinum Jubilee
  • approved the publication of a notice under Section 6 of the Roads Act (2005 Revision) authorizing the The National Roads Authority and its contractors shall enter the lands described by Boundary Plan 588 known as Airport Connector Roa
  • approved the appointment of the following individuals to the Traffic Review Committee: Ministry Appointed, Charles Brown – President; Department/Agency Representative, Jason Azan – Vice-Chair;Representative of the Cayman Islands Insurance Association; Industry/Stakeholder Representative, Burmon Scott, Industry/Stakeholder Representative, Collin Redden; CHIN Representative, Commissioner or delegate; NRA Representative, Director or Delegate, Judicial, Chief Executive or designate; Legal, Designated CEO; DVDL, director or delegate; Ministry of Tourism and [Public] Transport, chief officer or designate; Stakeholder, Candace Rankin and Stakeholder, John Miller
  • approved the Covid-19 Control (Travel) Regulations 2022 (No. 2)
  • Took note of the WORC compliance report regarding administrative fines and levies for 2019-2021

The loop is better in application. Personalize your newsfeed, save articles for later, view your reading history and more. Click on the links below to download the app for Android and IOS.

Comments are closed.